, 11, 11C, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 1831, 186, 188, 19, N2076
Default banner

About the Awards

The IPG's Independent Publishing Awards are the UK’s biggest annual celebration of independent publishing. They are run by the IPG with the support of various valued sponsors, and reward outstanding achievement in different sectors and aspects of publishing. We launched the Independent Publishing Awards in 2007, and they will be presented for the 13th time in 2019.

Why should I enter?

An IPG Independent Publishing Award is one of the most significant recognitions of success that an independent publisher can achieve. Previous winners tell us that securing an Award or a place on a shortlist has brought huge prestige and benefits. Among many other things, it provides a real feel-good factor for staff, authors and everyone associated with a company, validates publishers’ work, opens up new opportunities and raises their profile in the industry.
Simply submitting an entry is a valuable process. It gives you the chance to pause from your busy everyday work to reflect on your past achievements and your future goals. We make the submission process as straightforward as possible, so entering takes very little of your time. It may provide benefits that last years.
All of the IPG awards that we’ve won over the past few years have been of immense value to our business. It’s hard to overstate how important it’s been for us to have this recognition from the IPG—the awards are really great at getting anyone to take a bit more notice, and when you’re a small publisher competing against huge corporations, that extra attention is invaluable. Tom Bonnick, Nosy Crow

Which Awards can I enter?

We have 11 different Awards to enter, and there is bound to be at least one category to suit your business—and often more.
Five of the 11 categories are Publisher of the Year Awards. These cover the different fields of publishing in which IPG members work: Trade, Academic & Professional, Children’s, Education and Specialist Consumer. Other Awards recognise achievement in particular areas, including international activity, digital publishing and marketing and diversity. We have another category for newcomers to publishing, and one for the rising stars of publishers’ teams.
The full list of IPG Independent Publishing Awards is as follows:
Trade Publisher of the Year
Academic & Professional Publisher of the Year
Children’s Publisher of the Year
Education Publisher of the Year
Specialist Consumer Publisher of the Year
Newcomer Award
International Achievement of the Year
Digital Publishing Award
Marketing Award
Diversity Award
Young Independent Publisher of the Year
There is a 12th Award for which no entries are needed: the overall Independent Publisher of the Year. This is our flagship Award and is chosen from a shortlist made up of our five Publisher of the Year category winners.
We also invite nominations for a final category: the GBS Services to Independent Publishers Award. This recognises the dedicated support of independent publishers that is made by companies and individuals.
Both the Awards process and the Award itself have been a real morale booster for the whole team. To begin with, we were pleasantly surprised at how useful the application process itself was. It gave us a chance to take stock and reflect on what we had done so far and where we want to go next. We found this really helpful. Then actually getting the Award has really put a smile on all our faces! Mark Wendon, Letterland

How many Awards can I enter?

As many as you like! We ask for a separate entry form for each category as their criteria and requirements may be very different.

Who can enter?

The Awards are open to all members of the IPG based in the UK and Ireland. If you would like to discuss joining the IPG before entering, please call 01437 563335 or email

What does it cost?

Entries to the Awards are completely free.

When should I enter?

The deadline for entries has now passed. We are no longer accepting Award submissions.